From A Tree (of 15 Poems) _P**

Table of Contents:

  1. From a Tree
    2. Windy Day
    3. Hear Me Now, I pray
    4. They Won’t
    5. Adam
    6. There’s Snow On The Mountain, Paul
    7. Kathy Came Back
    8. Columbus Day
    9. Don’t Miss Me
    10. Again
    11. Sarah Anne
    12. Amazing [Amy]
    13. Seven
    14. 1-2-3
    15. Humuhumunukunukuapua’a

1. From a Tree

You call to me always, when I’m far away
not hello, or good morning, or have a nice day
It’s my name you proclaim, for all to hear
as if they all ‘ve known me from the birth of my year
Norman, Norman, Norman, she sang
so I gave her a necklace, now from a tree doth she hang.

zzzzzzzzz.png

2. Windy Day

“What’s with the band-aid on your wrists?” she asks
“Take a look,” said I, “if you’re curious.”
Just conversation she says as we kiss
I dismiss the smoke that I taste on her lips
Julie. O Julie we’ve come a long way
since the days when you, Ned and I used to pass the long days
Drinking and singing and being so free
a leaf visits me, from it’s owner-a tree
Greeting, great Tree, I speak from my mind
who art thou, with a blessing so fine?
Blown away, there it goes
in the breeze. goodbye leaf
I love you, I’ve lost you
I thank you, I breathe

zzzzzzzzzz.png

3. Hear Me Now, I pray

Beethoven, get me rollin’, get me going today.
Fur Elise, to kill the beast, at least I can change.
We’re on the brink of the second decade.
I.S.I.S., try this, second decade
Donald bring the bottle, bring your honesty
Clinton isn’t winning, let’s imprison Hilary!
A musical toast to the ghost with the most
Beetlejuice, Beetlejuice, Beetlejuice!
Lydia kiss me and take me away
they won’t miss me on our winter holiday
Sinking sand, need your hand, here we go
strike the band, to the land, start the show
Beethoven, get me rollin’, get me going today.
Sonata moon, soft the tune, hear me now I pray.

4. They Won’t

“They won’t” the old man said to himself;
he had a backpack with him and nothing else.
His face was so long, just like his beard;
“They won’t” he would mutter-rather weird.

“They won’t” he said.
“They will” said I.
“Why?” asked he.
“Look to the sky”

The old man looked to the sky right then
instead of the sun he saw a dark wren
It dived down real fast, and took out his eyes
he bled really fast but he did not die.
“They did” the old man said to himself
he wondered around with no one else.

5. Adam

Once there was a man that would not shower,
that sat by the television to gain his power.
His wish was for
everyone to watch him
He was alone
his life was so grim.

It was hard for Adam to get around
his legs were of no use-wheel chair bound
His wish was for
everyone to watch him
He was alone
his life was so grim.

6. There’s Snow On The Mountain, Paul

There’s snow on the mountain, Paul,
and after all
these years have fallen
away into our mem’ry banks
we look to Heaven for their sakes.

There’s snow on the mountain, Paul,
the trees are tall
but they’re growing wrong
around the poles to find the sun
look to the sky the years begun to fade.

You said you’d never go away
and then you crashed and were replaced
by a man they said was James
he sounded queer but had your face.

There’s snow on the mountain, Paul,
I heard the call
it sounded small
but then I turned my ears to it
and once again it sounded big to me.

7. Kathy Came Back

Kathy came back, she hugged me so tight.
Kathy came back, in the middle of the night.
She sat on my lap, called me a smoker.
oh why, great lightning god, do I still adore her?
Kathy came back, we had another fight.

8. Columbus Day

Christopher Columbus,
didn’t discover anything;
like Ameila Aerheart,
didn’t fly a plane.
They need a face for everything,
to tell their stories well.
Hitler isn’t laughing as he’s burning in Hell.

Jesus wasn’t born,
on December twenty fifth;
but it makes a pretty holiday
for unsuspecting kids.
They need a face for everything,
to tell their stories well.
Michael Jackson isn’t laughing while he’s burning in Hell.

First President George Washington,
had no cherry tree;
Honest Abe had sixty slaves,
before he set them free.
They need a face for everything,
to tell their stories well.
George W. Bush won’t be laughing while he’s burning in Hell.

9. Don’t Miss Me

Katelynn, don’t miss me, I will see you soon;
wipe away those salty tears sitting in your room.
Brush away the curtain, to wash away the gloom;
Katelynn, don’t miss me, I will see you soon

10. Again

Kiera, nightly
you sing brightly.
All the stars are shining now,
showing where and when and how.

Kiera, tell me
soft you felt me.
All mine hairs are standing up,
all the girls tell I’m in love.

Kiera, blue eyes
ocean and bright skies.
All the clouds have gone away,
like they’ve nothing more to say.

Kiera, hello
hair so yellow.
All my life I’m waiting for
you alone to love adore.

Kiera, sigh
one last goodbye.
It was nice to finally meet you,
sad to say I’ll never see you

…again.

11. Sarah Anne

Many years ago, in a house on Eden road,
lived a girl you may know…oh.

We were young but we had such love,
too few can understand.
A love that was more than love,
me and my Sarah Anne.

The only wish she’d keep, was to love and be loved by me.
laying naked by the sea…oh, you should’ve seen.

We were young but we had such love,
too few can understand.
A love that was more than love,
me and my Sarah Anne.
We loved so f*c*i*g much, that the angels from above,
became envious of us…and, thus:

Michael-the archangel, with his mighty arm and bow,
shot an arrow through her heart, leaving me alone.

We were young but we had such love,
too few can understand.
A love that was more than love,
me and my Sarah Anne.

12. Amazing [Amy]

you’re amazing,
to me….
Any days brand new, with you;
and all the things that you do,
well, it could be me and you….
being so happy….

Maybe we’re meant to be….
Maybe we’ll have to wait and see….
Well you can practice on me.
as I’m patiently waiting….
Oh Amy….
you amaze me.

Even if we’re not, girl,
we never lost a moment….
You’re just so beautiful,
and I’am a little,
in love with you….
and maybe, you’re too….

Amaze me,
amazing.
You make me,
so crazy.
Amaze me,
Amy.
Amazing,
Amy.

13. Seven

You called me as i was getting ready for bed.
This time it wasn’t your eyes, it was what you said.

I agreed to go with you, laugh and be seen with you;
it seems this sets me back.

When i said goodbye to you, i might as well have died for you;
and it seems i’ve given part of me
Seven weeks, i’m no longer free.

14. 1-2-3

When the sun comes up, open your eyes.
It’s begun, my love, don’t you realize—that
when a star burns out, you still will see it’s glow, though
it’s so far out, and so long ago…
One, two, three- when ever you are lone-ly
call, on, me- i’m just waiting to be there.
Whenever you are happy or even when you’re down
you know it always helps me, to have you a-rou-ou-nd!
When the moon is down, and you are- on your luck
it is true, I’ve found, to get up get up get up–yeah

Any time you feel alone, just play yourself a song
you know that i am coming home to help you sing along.

15. Humuhumunukunukuapua’a

swim with the fish in the sea.
Set with the sun burning bright,
softly ’til next morning.
Humuhumunukunukuapua’a
Humuhumunukunukuapua’a
Sink in the sand like a shell,
the sun shines down to feed the land.
Swimming so warm and so well,
remembering all that you can.
Swim in the sea and then sit next to me
so when you feel your eyes sting, your mind falls asleep..
Together we’ll be, you know the warranty, (that says:)
I’ll stay with you if you’ll be with me.

Leave a Reply

